I’m pretty proud of myself this week. I have never poached an egg before today so I was a little worried about how it would go. I always thought it would be really hard but it actually turned out perfect! Trying new things has its perks sometimes. I’m sure by now everyone is thinking: Is this blog actually about life lessons but innocently disguised as a toast blog? And the answer is yes! Of course it is! How could it not be? Every post about toast is a deep existential metaphor for life. Good luck figuring it all out!

file_001-4

I took my recipe, again, from “Serious Eats.” I have one serious problem with “Serious Eats” though. Your 2-Minute Hollandaise sauce is a lie. I take my Hollandaise sauce very seriously so my opinion is clearly meaningful and I’m convinced it’s impossible to make a decent Hollandaise in two minutes. This Hollandaise recipe did not work for me and it has nothing to do with the fact I didn’t use the proper instruments when making it. Probably.

img_0452

Eggs Benedict is delicious! It’s one of my favorite breakfasts. Poaching eggs is really fun and surprisingly easy. The bacon wasn’t too greasy because of the bread underneath. The flavors of the savory bacon meeting the creamy egg on the crunchy English muffin is perfection. I will be trying a better Hollandaise recipe next time.

